

#### **European Commission**

Cabinet of Commissioner Androulla VASSILIOU

# Friends of EIT – 21<sup>st</sup> September 2011

#### Logistics information:

§ *Time:* Wednesday 21<sup>st</sup> September at 3pm – 5pm

§ Location: European Parliament, Room A5F-385

# Agenda of the meeting:

Short introductory remarks by Commissioner Vassiliou and MEP Carvalho

# I- Achievements of the EIT so far: Presentation by the CEOs of the KICs

After a short introduction by the EIT management, each of the three KIC CEO will be given the opportunity to present briefly (7 min each) its KICs, its main objectives and achievements so far. This presentation is intended to be dynamic, allowing for interaction and questions from participants at any time. This will partly reply to the request of the group at the first meeting to have direct report from the KICs on their activities.

#### **II- The Strategic Innovation Agenda**

Commissioner Vassiliou will give a short overview of the direction of the upcoming SIA setting out the future of the EIT. The SIA will be proposed by the Commission by the end of the year and presented to the EP and MS together with a modification of the EIT Regulation.

This will open a debate and exchange of views with the participants on certain issues such as the themes of the new KICs, the number of the new KICs, the overall functioning of the EIT, and the allocated budget.

## **III-** List of participants (provisional)

### Chair of the group:

Commissioner Androulla VASSILIOU

Maria da Graça CARVALHO

## **Members of the European Parliament**

Teresa RIERA MADURELL

Jorgo CHATZIMARKAKIS

Sidonia JEDRZEJEWSKA

Reimer BOGE

Morten LOKKEGAARD

Ioannis A. TSOUKALAS

Malcom HARBOUR

Anne E. JENSEN

**Judith MERKIES** 

James ELLES

Helga TRÜPEL

Laszlo SURJAN (tbc)

Takis HADJIGEORGIOU (tbc)

Philippe LAMBERTS (tbc)

Marisa MATIAS (tbc)

Not available for this meeting but represented by their assistant:

Angelika NIEBLER

Lambert van NISTELROOIJ

#### EIT:

Alexander VON GABAIN, Chairman of the EIT

Jose Manuel LECETA, Director of the EIT

Diego PAVIA, CEO of KIC InnoEnergy

Mary RITTER, CEO of Climate KIC

Willem JONKER, CEO of EIT ICT Labs

#### **European Commission:**

Fabrice COMPTOUR (member of cabinet)

Jonathan HILL (member of Cabinet)

Lucia RECALDE (DG EAC)

Ruth SEITZ (DG EAC)